Time

Posted: February 10, 2011 in Uncategorized

I admit, I’ve been lax about posting something new.  It’s not that other things haven’t been going on in my life.  I’ve had ups and downs as expected.  It’s just I would see the last post I’d made and remember my cousin.

Suddenly I wouldn’t feel like writing much.  Lately I’ve been thinking of my cousin.  About how I would help her with her makeup.  How she always swore that I should become a makeup artist.

I remembered how she was petite to my lumbering figure.  How she had gorgeously thick wavy hair while mine was stick straight and fine.

I am glad I got to help her with her makeup.  Glad I was able to spend part of my life with her.  Glad for the memories.  Without them,  there would be a big gaping whole.

She laughed loud. We both did.  We had laughs that would fill a room.  People would give us looks for laughing so loud and so long.  It only made us laugh harder.

What was hard, was realizing that there were things that were between the two of us.  Inside jokes and stories – that only we got.  Now I’m left alone with the stories and nicknames.

So I’ve been writing them down in a journal as I remember them.  Not just of her, but of the family as a whole.

Who knows? Perhaps one day someone will stumble upon my ramblings and get a smile or two.  Maybe even a laugh about the stories or cringe. Who knows.  Warped senses of humor run in our family.

I guess all that’s left to say is: Thanks for the memories kiddo.  I miss you.

 

Peace

 

 

Leave a Reply

