Happy and Merry

Posted: December 16, 2010 in Books, Mail Art, NaNoWriMo, Pen Pals, Random Snarkiness (or snarky-ness), Writing

Okay – so I haven’t written in forever.  Mostly because I’m too busy surfing everyone elses blog, hoping they’d post something to entertain me for a while.

I did not “win” the NaNoWriMo challenge. I fell far short.  Mostly because I lacked an outline. Well I lacked half an outline. The part I did have outlined went off wonderfully.  Next year the outline will be done WELL before November.

November is a tough month for me because I have two Thanksgiving celebrations to attend.  One takes up a whole weekend.  But it’s well worth it.  I think if I would have been able to keep up my momentum (adding a bit more on weekends when I wasn’t out of town) I would have won.

I have mixed feelings about this. I feel bad that I didn’t “win” however I also feel I succeeded in getting the 15k plus words I did get in.  This is huge for me because I tend to write short stories.  In fact, I was thinking next year instead of writing a novel, I’d write a series of short stories, but then, it’s not a novel, it’s a collection of short stories so . . . feh.

In other news, I am pretty much done with Christmas shopping (Yay!) and now have the task of wrapping presents (boo!).  I seem to forget about step 2 of the plan.  Step 1: Buy Presents and Step 3: Watch as presents are unwrapped, are great. It’s Step 2: Wrap Presents that I continually forget about when buying Pillow Pets for the grandkids.

Sigh.

November wasn’t a total loss.  I submitted a short story in the Blue Kingdom series called Mages and Magic.  It’s scheduled to be printed this winter.  It was weird seeing my name on the back cover and going through all the different stages.   I was really shocked to see that my story was approved.   Not that the story wasn’t good, I’ve submitted other stories that were good, it was just that I expected there not to be room.  But I will admit that this time I made damn sure my story was short – I believe it came in under 3k after revisions.

Oh and after NaNoWriMo, I was in a bit of a funk, I was behind on everything so I ended up spending way too much time in front of the TV or PC numbing my brain (If I can’t live the exciting life of luxury, my Sims can ;p) but am finally back on track and catching up on my mail (sorry for any of my pen pals that are reading this – I’m working on the pile as quick as I can!).

So – that’s it for me now.  I’ll post a more info about the book when I have it.  I hope everyone is keeping warm and that you’re all having a relaxing holiday season – and that you’re done wrapping presents too 🙂

Peace!

 

Leave a Reply

