What I’m -Planning- On Reading

Posted: July 26, 2010 in Books, Crafting, Knitting, Mail Art, Pen Pals, Snail Mail

Also known as – the box of books that’s been sitting in my office for the past two years that I finally decided to do something about.   Before you look at the picture, bear in mind that I have a pretty wide range of subjects and genres I like to read.  I like reading a good story.  I like light-hearted books that make me feel warm and fuzzy, along with the books that make my heart ache.  I’m not above reading a romance (though if the femme fatale is too stupid to live, I’ll either toss the book or read on in the secret hope that the idiot finally meets an untimely and sloppy end).

I like books that make me think, but not books that throw out a lot of big words you don’t often hear that has me wondering what, exactly, the writer meant.   Some words you can figure out by the context of the conversation or sentence.  Other times, when some know-it-all is speaking and tossing out long-winded speeches and I’m left going “huh?” and I see that the other people in the book aren’t going “huh?” along with me.  I usually set that one aside for the “give-away” pile.

my planning to read list

The plan is to start at the top and work my way down

The books are old.  I used to live/work closer to a book store that I loved to go to to shop and visit the coffee shop and have a nice cup of coffee.  No Kindle or Nook for this gal. I love the feel of the pages and a place to use all my bookmarks.  Speaking of bookmarks – did you notice the top book (yeah, yeah – I know. It’s a long running play AND there is or going to be a movie about it) and the cute little socks?  Heres a close up:

my sock bookmark from Aimee

Oh look! A pair of socks! A bookmark! A Sock Bookmark!

I got these in the mail today from my friend Aimee.  She is very talented and knits lots of groovy stuff that makes me wish I could knit half as good as she does.  But I digress.  I came home from a horrid day at work and trudged on over to the mailbox and there is was!  I bright envelope with a wonderful (and practial present inside).  Because, believe it or not, I was searching for a bookmark for my book this morning.  I ended up using some bit of tissue or something.  But now I have a proper bookmark so all is right with the universe.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have a bit of reading to do ;p

Peace

Comments
  1. Just an FYI: Wicked the Musical is loosely (very loosely) based on the book. If you’ve seen the musical, you won’t recognize the book. And if you’ve read the book, the musical is much different.

Leave a Reply

