The letter that started it all –

Posted: July 18, 2010 in Mail Art, Pen Pals, Snail Mail

I love mail – well, I love mail that isn’t junk or bills.  I love letters from friends and loved ones, but not many people I know write letters.  I admit, at one time I was corresponding with my lovely sister-in-law and stopped (huge mistake on my end, as I did look forward to her letters) the fact remains that almost everyone I know relies on email, instant messaging or text to communicate.

I worried about this – and decided to join a pen pal site.  Granted, I could have asked my friends if they wanted to write, and I have written a few of them – only to get calls or emails in return.  And while I don’t expect a reply every time, doing it constantly with an occasional phone call or email reply gets old.

When I joined the email site, I was contacted by a few people.  It was exciting trading addresses and seeing who would go first.  It has been a blast corresponding with people from different countries and states, but then, there was the first letter I got from my friend Aimee that made me fall in love with getting mail all over again:

Letter from Aimee

Adorable!

When I saw this in the mail, I was amazed at how beautiful the envelope was – I didn’t want to open it, but of course I did – I needed to find out what was in the letter.  It took me a while to realize it was a page from a children’s book.  I am not ashamed to admit that I got a bit teary-eyed when I read the text inside.   It was about how the child was outside after being sick for so long, and seeing a rabbit that reminded him of his dear stuffed rabbit that his parents had to take away from him.

I was intrigued about the envelope and asked Aimee about it – she told me all about Good Mail Day and the Missive Maven.  Huge mistake – because since then, I’ve been looking over blogs – checking out Etsy shops and finally, today, I was headed to my little office and spied my packages waiting for me at the door!!  First came my order from Picklehead:

Picklehead Etsy Order

Lovely envelopes and stickers

I ordered these before I figured out my template, however, I will be using these as well because they are just that awesome!  Also, was the package from 16 Sparrows for my Letter Writers Alliance membership (and some other yummies I ordered) the package was .. well.. see for yourself:

Letter Writer's Alliance

LWA Package!

So now, if you’ll excuse me, I’d like to get back to gushing all over my new stuff and trying to squeeze a few more letters in before bed.

Nighters!

Leave a Reply

