And the scale says –

Posted: July 14, 2010 in Uncategorized

That I am down to 30 pounds.  Which is great because I thought that needle on the scale was stuck or something.  I even considered buying a new one, but held out and I’m glad I did.

There is a lot of debate on scales.  How often or when they should be used.  I agree, some people are obsessive about weight – I went to school with a girl who weighed herself at least five times in the three hours I was at her house.   So it was no surprise when I later found out she had to deal with an eating disorder.

Me? I weigh myself once a day when I remember and I freely admit that I don’t miss very often.  I use it as a gauge because I am also bad at measuring things out.  Well, that’s not true. I am good at measuring portions, what I am bad at is doing dishes and when I run out of clean measuring cups I stop measuring for a bit.

I know, I know, I could just stop and buy more, but really that just means I’ll have more dishes to wash.  It’s a vicious circle.

But the scale keeps me on track – if it seems to be creeping upward, I take a look at how and what I’ve been eating and see if I need to adjust.  I find this works well for me.  I realize it won’t work for everyone, and that’s fine, I’m not everyone 🙂

I have also started another session of the fitness classes here at work.  I notice little changes like being able to use more weight, being able to do more of an exercise before I have to take a break.   I can finally say that while I am not in shape, I am not -that- out of shape either!

I am hoping that I will be able to fit into some of the smaller clothes I’ve had packed away and put these fat clothes in a donation bag or in the trash.  Yes, I’m ashamed to say that some of the clothes I have should be tossed, but I refuse to buy anything.

I have lots of very nice clothes for business and casual – what did me in was buying bigger clothes when they got tight.  Worst mistake I ever made.  One that I won’t be doing again.

Oh, and when I was at the doctors office (I’ll save the why for another post) I found out that my highest weight was actually 249.5.

I had gotten down to 244.8 from there (per the doctors scale) and the doctor showed that I was down to 222.3.  I was sick that day and a week later I was back down to 215.

But I’ll stick with having lost 30 pounds – I was nearly 245 when I started and am proud of the progress I’ve made.  In a couple of weeks I’ll be taking measurements again.  I am not planning on any big loss in inches because I had an off week of exercising and the humidity here in Wisconsin is making me puff up like a balloon.

Ahh, the wonders of getting older 🙂  but it beats the alternative!

Peace!

Leave a Reply

