Monday, Tuesday, W T F?!?!

Posted: June 17, 2010 in Exercise, Inspiration, Weight Loss

A coworker sent me a cute Maxine picture with the phrase – After Monday and Tuesday, even the calendar says W T F

Made me smile – giggle even, which is good for the heart, mind and spirit (or that’s what I think it’s good for).

This week in one of my exercise classes, the instructor asked me how much more weight I’ve lost.  What’s funny is that the scale has been moving very slowly – pausing and stopping on it’s downward course.  A few times moving up a bit – not a lot, but enough to make me think about what I’ve been doing and eating.

Usually I can pinpoint it back to something I’ve done – mainly over eating.  I’ve learned that I have very little self control when it comes to Macaroni and Cheese.  So the next time I want to try that treat, I’ll go order take out from Noodles and Company and at least something close to portion control.

Today I weighed myself and found I lost another couple pounds.  Our scale at home is the one with the hand that moves around, so I can’t say exactly, but I can say that I have moved from the 220’s down to the 210’s.  My husband says he thinks I’ve lost a lot more inches as well.

Next week is Week 10 and I’ll be doing measurements on Saturday morning.  I am trying not to get too excited or hopeful.  Actually, it’s expectation that I’m trying to avoid.  I know that, with any lifestyle changes, the first weeks seem to be the ones that show the most promise.  But really, it’s what you do in the long run that matters.

That’s why I’m not saying “never”  I could not handle “never” being able to have some of my favorite foods, but my favorite foods aren’t my mainstay anymore.  And actually, some things I eat don’t taste as good as they used to.   I have come to dislike things that are too sugary or over processed.

Which is good, because there are a lot of things I ate often that I could live without ever eating again.  Things full of chemicals and Trans or Saturated fats – lots of empty calories that left me feeling empty and hungry.

Today was Yoga.  I still can’t balance on one foot.  I can’t hold some positions as long as others – but I’m getting better.  Each week I see small improvements that only seem like a lot when you look back to April when I started this.

While I haven’t had the super major weight loss that some products or programs claim,  I’m doing something that I can live with – that I feel good about doing.  Hopefully that means it will be something I can stick with for the rest of my very long life 🙂

Take care of yourself, you’re the only one qualified to.

Peace

Leave a Reply

