Week 4 – Day 1

Posted: May 11, 2010 in Uncategorized

I woke up at 4 am and didn’t want to come to work.  I ached.  My tummy hurt from eating a bunch of junk.  I just wanted to curl up into a ball and sleep the day away.

But I got up and came to work, still thinking that perhaps I should go home.  Perhaps I should skip class.  Even up to going to the locker room to change – I thought I forgot socks and was ready to call it in.  But there, in the bottom of my bag, were extra socks.

/sigh  my Mother’s training .. always carry extra underwear and socks

Thanks Mom.

So I went to class and pushed myself a bit and the instructor noticed me favoring my right leg, (my left knee is still a bit squeamish), and she gave me some advice and exercises to do at home to help.

Then, after class, I realized I forgot about the company bowling event.  So I scrambled, trying to figure out how to get home and change and grab the food for the food drive.

I considered calling and bowing out.    Then I recalled one of the events I went to where only half of the team showed up – causing a lot of extra work for the rest of us.  So I sucked it up and went.

And I had a really good time.  It was fun seeing people I used to work with, people I know who have moved to other buildings or transferred to other jobs.  And all the ladies from my exercise classes seemed to be in attendance with their groups.

I stayed away from the free beer and wine coolers.  I ate the vegetarian lasagna and salad, but said no to the garlic bread (that did look WAY yummy at the time, it was 2 hours later than my usual dinner time), and I skipped the desert tray.

And came home to try and wash dishes, cook rice and create my clean eating lunches (I was going to make more dishes but it was late and I was tired.)

While the day may have started out a bit crummy, it ended up being a lot of fun.  It just goes to show, you can’t judge how a day’s going to turn out by how you feel when the alarm goes off!

Peace!

Leave a Reply

