Day 1

Posted: April 19, 2010 in Uncategorized

Today is the first day of the exercise classes here at work.  They run for 10 weeks and I – hopefully? foolishly? suicidally? You pick – signed up for all four classes.

On top of that, I’m also trying to eat better.  Well, better meaning cleaner.  No more fast food every night.  No more processed foods (or drastically reduced).  I mean, if we are what we eat, then I am a large list of chemicals that few can pronounce.

Most of the TV infomercials boast of making a person over in 6 weeks with some really strict rules.  I figured I would take 10 weeks and try watching my portions and eating unprocessed foods.  I’m kind of going off the Eat Clean diet that a co-worker is on.  He’s lost close to 30 lbs and looks a lot better.

It’s not easy, it takes a bit of planning and getting used to cooking again.  This past weekend I was baking asparagus and oven roasting vegetables.  Peeling beets and carrots and wondering why there was a thin layer of wax on the turnips – if those were turnips.

I used to know all of this stuff.  I used to work on farms and garden and knew how to tell what a plant was by its leaves.  Now, I stand in the store, gazing at produce in various stages of – well – decomposition (I mean really – some of the crap they try to sell is better off on top of a compost heap).

But after three .. no four stores and a health food specialty shop – I was able to come up with enough stuff to keep me going for the week.  Which is good because Friday night I’m headed up north to my folks and then Saturday my daughter and I will be in Minnesota for a family birthday party.

If I get brave enough I’ll post a now picture – or maybe I’ll wait until the end.  I don’t think anyone really reads this and if they do because some search engine brought them here…well I guess I’m hoping at the end of 10 weeks I will have made a dent in my weight loss.

Not that any of this is a temporary fix.  I am tired of eating empty calories.  I am tired of being overweight and tired.  I am really tired of waking up at night for no reason.

I had my husband help take some measurements.  Because I know the scale is fickle and how you feel (and your clothes fit) is a better indicator.

Today is the Cardio-Blast with ABS class down in the fitness center here at work.   All of the classes start around lunch and I’m debating eating before or after the class.    I think I’ll try and hold out until after class.  Hopefully, my normal lunchtime of  11:00 am won’t make me a starving lunatic by 1:30 pm, when the class is done.

Shoot!  I just remembered I forgot to weigh myself this morning.  My goal was to post a bit each week about how I was doing with the eating and exercising and my progress.

I’ll make sure I’ll do it tomorrow.

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

