Bummed

Posted: March 18, 2010 in Crafting, Writing

Yep – that’s the word that pretty much sums it up.  I’m bummed.  In a funk.  Bored.  Apathetic.  Blah.

You get the picture.

I recall the great words of my friend Janet Lee, who once told me that it was easy to fall down – very, VERY easy.  It was hard as hell to get back up.

It appears I have fallen and haven’t bothered to get the hell back up.

And why not? It’s nice down here.  No one expects much from you.

And I am starting to not like it very much, which means it’s time to get the hell up and do something.  Not the type of something that is that wild arm-waving useless type something, but SOMETHING.

Actually, it started yesterday.  I was thinking about things I am (was) passionate about.  The first thing that came to mind was my card making.    But the problem with card making is that they mostly sit around until I get a request from friends or family.

They are pretty cards.  I am quite proud of them.  It has been suggested several times that I look into selling them and to be honest, I would love nothing more.  But I don’t think I can. Not because I just don’t have the backbone to do it, but because of copyrights and all that legal jazz.

I use a lot of stamps in my card making and I have no clue which ones I can use safely and which ones I need to either denote (and by denote, I mean purchase their 2″ x 2″ stamp that must be stamped on the back of the card)   and since I use lots of stamps from lots of different companies (Hero Arts, Stamping Up, Tim Holtz, to name a few)  and since – sometimes the internet isn’t so helpful in trying to find out who allows what – I haven’t bothered.

HOWEVER (and this is what got me to getting) I have friends and family that would love to get something in the mail besides junk mail and bills.  Then I decided to see if there was a penpal type of website – and I was pleasantly surprised to find one called PenPal Party.

So I’m giving it a shot.  I think the art of writing letters is becoming a lost tradition, and I’ll be trying to change that a bit.

xoxo

Leave a Reply

