15 Minutes

Posted: December 7, 2009 in Uncategorized

So the lovely SG over at her blog put up the challenge of a 15 minute poem based on a photo she took (read her blog, she’s a not only a wonderful writer, but a great photographer as well)

Mine took about 12 minutes and apparently I am back to writing darker poetry.

*****

Under the Night Tree

“Touch the moon” he whispered
Against the nothing that I’ve become
While I reach, stretching beyond my limits
Trying to please, trying to be
Something I’m not.

“Tell me you love me” the words grate
Against my ear and I whisper back
Automatically. Without feeling,
without hope, forgetting for a moment
His face

And we sat under the dappled moonlight
While the tree wrapped us in her shadowy embrace
Feeling more like love and life than the charade we play
Feeling more like home than his arms could
I’m lost

“Look up” she whispers in the nights gentle breeze
And I see the moon through her branchs
While his lips crawl over my neck
And suddenly I am away

Far away

I am gone

*****

Go on and give it a whirl – you may be surprised with what you come up with!

xoxo

Comments
  1. SG says:

    So gorgeous, A. Makes my heart hurt. In the good way 🙂

    • Annette says:

      Thank you sweetheart – and thank you for the photo prompt (and challenge). I forgot how much I like writing poetry.

      xoxo

Leave a Reply

