Books and more

Posted: September 29, 2009 in Books, Review

I held out for a while.  It was tough, but I did.   I held off reading the last two books from the birthday extravaganza until I sat down and read the last two books.

Little Bee: A Novel was the first.  It was a moving story – it moved between the POV of two women.  I don’t want to give a way too much but let me say that while at first it was slightly confusing (kind of like following map quest in a city you kind of know, you sense that there should be something familiar but you have that uneasy feeling that you missed a turn a few miles back). 

It was a thought provoking book.  A book that reminded me that humans sometimes do very unhuman things.

The second was Water for Elephants.  I loved this book.  I had such a hard time putting it down that I actually brought it to work and had to keep it stowed away in my bag lest I try to sneak a few pages in (okay, yes I did flip it open a time or two until the boss nearly caught me!)

I recommend both, but if I had to only chose one of the two?  I’d put Water for Elephants first.  Mind you The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman was by far the favorite, but it is a young adult book.

Lately, I’ve been teaching myself to crochet and knit.  Thanks to some lovely videos in You Tube and some friends at work, I’ve been able to catch on a bit. However, that has been put to the side a bit because of my Bohemian Bliss class that I am taking that is run by Violette Clarke.

If you are interested in mixed media – I would suggest either picking up one of her books or taking the online class.  Here’s a few links to her blog and her ning site.

Well that’s all for now, I’ll be back later with some pictures of what I’ve been creating!

XOXO

Leave a Reply

